Volleyball Canada


Ottawa to host the new Volleyball Nations League

Ottawa, ON, Nov. 22, 2017: Volleyball Canada is excited to confirm that Ottawa will serve as the Canadian stop for the newly formed FIVB Volleyball Nations League.

Canada’s men’s team will play matches on June 8, 9 and 10 against Germany, Australia and traditional North American rivals the United States at TD Place Arena at Lansdowne Park in Ottawa (schedule and ticketing info to be released in early 2018).

"We are pleased and very honoured to host this new and groundbreaking tournament in the nation’s capital... Building on the success of hosting men’s World League and women’s Grand Prix in the past, we are excited to take this event to the next level with our partners in Ottawa."

Alan Ahac — Volleyball Canada’s Director of International Events.

The local organizing committee will consist of representatives from Volleyball Canada, the Eastern Ontario Region of the Ontario Volleyball Association (OVA) and Ottawa Sports and Entertainment Group (OSEG).

"As the Eastern Ontario Region of the OVA, we are proud to be a partner in the planning, organizing and delivery of this world-class volleyball event, together with the Ottawa Sports and Entertainment Group and Volleyball Canada," said Region 6 President Irena Zamboni. "A volleyball passionate community such as Ottawa is the perfect location to showcase the new Volleyball Nations League. We are very much looking forward to this one of a kind event, featuring the world’s top teams including our very own men’s National Team."

The matches will be played at the 8000-seat capacity Arena at TD Place, part of the Lansdowne urban sports, retail/restaurant district.

Last month, the International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) unveiled the Volleyball Nations League, which is set to begin in May 2018.

In both the men’s and women’s leagues, 12 core teams and four challenger teams will battle to become Volleyball Nations League champion by playing in a round robin format. With a total of 130 matches throughout the league season, every team will play a minimum of 15 matches and each core nation will host at least one pool, bringing the action closer to fans around the world.

On the men’s side, the core teams are: Argentina, Brazil, China, France, Germany, Iran, Italy, Japan, Poland, Russia, Serbia and the USA. The four challenger teams are: Australia, Bulgaria, Canada and South Korea. The Canadian women’s team is not part of the Volleyball Nations League in 2018, but will compete in the affiliated Challenger League.

A joint project between the FIVB, IMG and 21 national federations – the Volleyball Nations League will present volleyball in a way that has never been experienced before, building on the innovative sports presentation on display at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Watch for more information in early 2018 and the FIVB global ticket launch in February!

Contact: Jackie Skender