Volleyball Canada

News

Volleyball Canada joins the Coaching Association of Canada in celebrating all coaches during National Coaches Week

National Coaches Week is a time to celebrate the positive impact coaches have on athletes and their communities across Canada. The annual campaign is an opportunity to recognize coaches for the integral role they play by taking the time to say #ThanksCoach. More info can be found at www.coach.ca.

"From all of us at Volleyball Canada, we want to take the time to sincerely thank and celebrate all of our coaches across Canada," said Ian Halliday, Volleyball Canada’s Manager of Coach Pathways. "These are challenging times that we are experiencing and through it all, volleyball coaches across the country continue to give their time and energy to providing safe and meaningful sport opportunities. From the community coaches to the high-performance coaches that we saw at Tokyo 2020, Volleyball Canada wants to recognize the efforts of all coaches who continue to give back to our sport."

Volleyball Canada encourages all coaches to take part in National Coaches Week and to take advantage of the many professional development opportunities being offered across the country.


FREE OR DISCOUNTED COACHING EDUCATION
 
Volleyball Canada is offering 50% discount on its Volleyball eLearning (Foundations of Volleyball) and Elementary eLearning modules during National Coaches Week (September 18-26, 2021). Both eLearning courses are available in the Volleyball Canada Coaching Centre.

During National Coaches Week, coaches can diversify their coaching knowledge with FREE NCCP education from the Coaching Association of Canada. Free eLearning modules available to all coaches include:

NCCP Coach Initiation in Sport presented by Decathlon Canada
NCCP Coaching Athletes with a Disability
NCCP Emergency Action Plan
NCCP Making Headway
Safe Sport Training
Leading a Return to Sport Participation
Mental Health in Sport
Support Through Sport: Understanding Teen Dating Violence

SAY #THANKSCOACH AND ENTER TO WIN!

During National Coaches Week, everyone in the volleyball community is encouraged to take part in the Petro-Canada #ThanksCoach contest for a chance to win one of twenty pairs of $100 Petro-Canada Gift Cards for participants and their coach. No purchase necessary, see the full contest details online.

 

PETRO CANADA SPORT LEADERSHIP SPORTIF
NOVEMBER 3-5, 2021

Registration for the 2021 Petro-Canada Sport Leadership sportif conference is now open! The Coaching Association of Canada (CAC) is pleased to partner with Petro-Canada to host this event in a virtual environment again this year.  

The theme for the 2021 Petro-Canada Sport Leadership sportif conference is Let’s Reignite  Sport. For sport to return better and stronger than before, we must maintain a people-first approach to wellness, apply inclusive practices, and develop sustainable, innovative business strategies. Through a series of engaging keynote presentations and breakout sessions, delegates will be encouraged to celebrate the successes, grieve the hardships, and develop the wisdom needed to continue this inspiring transformation in the face of disruption. 

The CAC is offering a discounted registration fee of $40 for delegates who register during the early bird period. As of October 1, 2021, the registration fee for the conference will be $90.  

Coach Profiles

Learn More About Canadian Coaches

Tessa May: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-tessa-may

Jimmy El-Turk: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-jimmy-el-turk

Christine Biggs: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-christine-biggs

Garth Pischke: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-garth-pischke

Natasha Spaling: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-natasha-spaling

Josh Nichol: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-josh-nichol

Carolyn O’Dwyer: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-carolyn-o-dwyer

Dave Preston: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-dave-preston

Brock Daviduk: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-brock-davidiuk

Sandra Lamb: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-sandra-lamb

Adriana Bento: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-adriana-bento

Shannon Winzer: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-shannon-winzer

Sean McKay: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-sean-mckay

Gino Brousseau: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-gino-brousseau

Joely Christian-MacFarlane: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-joely-christian-macfarlane

Jennifer Neilson: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-jennifer-neilson

Laurie Eisler: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-laurie-eisler

Dan Lewis: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-dan-lewis

Shanice Marcelle: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-shanice-marcelle

Doug Reimer: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-doug-reimer

Nicole Ban: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile-nicole-ban

Kristine Drakich: https://volleyball.ca/en/news/coach-profile