25 May - 25 Jun


Rimini, Italy

2021 Women's Volleyball Nations League

Senior indoor - f

2021 Women's Volleyball Nations League

Carrying on from the successful 2018 and 2019 competitions, 2021 Volleyball Nations League (VNL) continues in the same format of 12 core teams and four challenger teams per gender with each team playing against every other – though in view of the ongoing coronavirus pandemic all matches of both genders will be played in the Italian city of Rimini.

The women's core teams include Brazil, China, Germany, Italy, Japan, Korea, Netherlands, Russia, Serbia, Thailand, Turkey and USA. The challenger teams are Belgium, the Dominican Republic and Poland, plus Canada who won the latest FIVB Volleyball Challenger Cup to replace Bulgaria who were relegated in 2019.

The 2021 Women's VNL is set to start on May 25 with the preliminary round completed on June 20. 



Jennifer Cross (Captain), Scarborough, ON
Parker Austin, Edmonton, AB
Cassie Bujan, Winnipeg, MB
Alexa Gray, Calgary, AB
Hilary Howe, Calgary, AB
Shainah Joseph, Ottawa, ON
Brie King, Surrey, BC
Caroline Livingston, Kelowna, BC
Emily Maglio, Coquitlam, BC
Andrea Mitrovic, Mississauga, ON
Alicia Ogoms, Winnipeg, MB
Kim Robitaille, Repentigny, QC
Dani Smith, Beaverlodge, AB
Kennedy Snape, Kelowna, BC
Layne Van Buskirk, Windsor, ON
Jazmine White, Oshawa, ON
Kiera Van Ryk, Surrey, BC

Travelling Staff

Shannon Winzer- Head Coach
Lauren Bertolacci- Assistant Coach
Vincenzo Mallia- Assistant Coach
Pablo Sanchez- Scout
Tavis Bruce - Team Lead & Strength and Conditioning
Fraser Perry - Physiotherapist
Hilary Mallinger - Physiotherapist & Covid Hygiene Officer

Canada-based support staff

Dr Sara Forsyth - Chief Medical Officer
Dr Anne Muscat - Mental Performance Coach
Ashlen Leonard – Dietician
Kevin Duquette – Team Coordinator


The full tournament schedule can be viewed here.


Media Contact

Volleyball Canada
Jackie Skender
Mobile: 613-794-7676