2024 Nationals Post Sale

Available on volleyballstuff.net now until June 19th @ 2pm MT

Read More

Volleyball Canada

News

Canada wins semi and is Paris bound!

NOV. 17, 2023:  Canada won its semifinal match today at 2023 WPV Sitting Volleyball World Cup in Cairo, Egypt, and as the highest ranked team yet to qualify for Paris 2024, Canada has earned the women’s berth from this tournament.

Despite a last-ditch comeback attempt by its opponents, Canada beat Germany 3-0 (25-13, 25-17, 25-23) today. Canada is undefeated at this World Cup tournament with one match to go.

Team captain Danielle Ellis was elated: "We worked so hard to get to this game and we fought for every point out there on court today! I’m so proud of every athlete and staff member on this team. See you in Paris!"
 
Canada faces the other semi winner (China who beat Brazil today) in the gold-medal final on Saturday. China has already qualified for Paris via its Zonal Championships.

“We’re going to Paris and I couldn’t be more proud,” said Canada's head coach Nicole Ban after the semi. “We’ve been talking about this moment since World Championships one year ago. We’ve been focused on the process, on believing in this group, and trusting each other despite adversity. We accomplished our goal of qualifying and we have one more game that lies ahead, a gold medal match tomorrow against China."
 
Canada’s match vs China is at 16:00 in Egypt, which is 9 am EST; 7 am MT; and 6 am PT on Saturday, Nov. 18
 
The qualification opportunity was awarded to the highest ranked team that had not already secured a qualification spot via the 2022 World Championship or one of the four Zonal Championships.

Event web site: https://www.worldparavolley.org/2023-wpv-sitting-volleyball-world-cup/
Links to live streams are posted here on Facebook and streamed on YouTube https://www.youtube.com/@WorldParaVolleyYT


Schedule overview:
Nov. 13 – CAN vs. BRA - 3-1 (15-25,25-21, 25-22, 25-20).
Nov. 14 -  SLO vs. CAN (am) 1-3 (21-25, 17-25, 25-18, 14-25); CAN vs. UKR (pm) 3-0 (25-13, 25-14, 25-16)
Nov. 15 – NED vs. CAN 3-0 (25-20, 25-17, 25-8)
Nov. 16 – Quarterfinals CAN def EGY
Nov. 17 – Semifinals CAN def GER 
Nov. 18 – Finals CAN vs CHN 
 
Roster:
Julie Kozun, Melfort, SK
Danielle Ellis, White Rock, BC
Jennifer Oakes, Calgary, AB
Angelena Dolezar, St. Albert, AB
Anne Fergusson, Carleton Place, ON
Jolan Wong, Vermilion, AB
Sarah Melenka, Vegreville, AB
Jayme Lynne Lepp, Vancouver, BC
Heidi Peters, Neerlandia, AB
Katelyn Wright, Edmonton, AB
Felicia Voss-Shafiq, Burnaby, BC
Jennifer McCreesh, Smithers, BC
Allison Lang, Edmonton, AB
 
Staff
Nicole Ban, head coach 
Chelsea Hobbs, assistant coach  
Kate Rozendaal, assistant coach
Yung Yung Wong, therapist                        
Ian Halliday, team manager         
Onika Green, mental performance coach              
Lionel Bonnaure, performance analyst   

Volleyball Canada Media Contact:
Jackie Skender
jskender@volleyball.ca
Mobile: 613-794-7676